Epping – Ongar 125 + Lament

In Spring 1990 a special event was held on the then London Underground Central line route between Epping and Ongar, celebrating it being 125 years since the Great Eastern Railway (GER) opened a single track line between Loughton and Ongar, and this film is based on the festivities. Built by the Eastern Counties Railway trains first reached Loughton in 1858, and the Ongar extension opened in 1865. London Transport Central line electric trains reached Loughton in 1948, Epping in 1949 and Ongar in 1957. However mainline freight trains were only withdrawn when the freight yards were closed in 1966 and mainline diesel trains in the mid 1970’s (by which time very few mainline trains were still using this route). The train used on in the special event was a 3-car 1960 Tube Stock unit which had been painted in the original 1938 Tube livery of grey roof, red body, cream window pillars and gilt ‘London transport’ fleetnames & car numbers. It comprised of 2x 1960 Tube Stock Cravens’ Driving Motors (DM) plus a single 1938 Tube Stock Trailer (T) which had been specially modified to work with these DM’s. Footage includes a cab ride, lineside views, views taken at all stations (Epping, North Weald, Blake Hall – which by then was closed – and Ongar), inside the signal box at North Weald (which still retained its original GER levers) and the more modern signal box at Epping, where several trains are seen moving along the illuminated route display. Against a backdrop of the train
Video Rating: 5 / 5

Comments are closed.